Free

Wicked problems: Reimagining Beveridge's "Five Giants" -- inequality

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

Online / Zoom

Event description

Description

This is a global RSA event. Please see below for timing in your region:

United Kingdom -- 8am GMT
Sydney & Melbourne -- 7pm AEDT
New Zealand -- 9pm NZDT

In 1942, William Beveridge identified five main social challenges plaguing British society, which became the focus of the modern welfare state: squalor, ignorance, idleness, want, and disease. To commemorate the 75th anniversary of the Beveridge Report, the RSA surveyed its global Fellowship to determine the areas of most concern today.

With unerring consistency, participants highlighted the same issues: disempowerment, intolerance, isolation, climate change, and inequality. These are the New Giants, shared challenges facing societies around the world.

Join RSA Fellows in Oceania and elsewhere as we explore the causes and consequences of these wicked problems, and start a global discussion around what a new social settlement to tackle these issues would look like.

The final event in this series will focus on inequality.

Panel participants:

Hannah Webster is a Senior Researcher in the RSA's Public Services and Communities team.

Please direct any questions about this event to philipa.duthie@thersa.org. Joining instructions will be sent to attendees upon registration.

Share with friends

Date and Time

Location

Online / Zoom

Save This Event

Event Saved