Free

Reading with Spiritual Eyes Book Chat

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

St Francis College, The Roscoe Library

233 Milton Road

Milton, QLD 4064

Australia

View Map

Friends Who Are Going
Event description

Description

The Roscoe Library has started a book club, Reading with Spiritual Eyes, based on works of fiction. You’re invited to join with us as we discuss our book for Term 4 2017, The Barrier by Shankari Chandran.

For catering and set-up purposes, please let us know if you’re planning on joining us by registering (via this site). We are looking forward to another interesting book chat!

What? Book chat
Where? Roscoe Library
When? Tuesday 28 November 5:30 pm
How? Facilitated discussion / Drinks & nibbles provided
Who? Eve, Susan, Kay, Jonathan ... you?

"War, disease, biotechnology and religion intertwine in a gripping near-future thriller.

Twenty years ago an Ebola epidemic brought the world to the edge of oblivion. The West won the war, the East was isolated behind a wall, and a vaccine against Ebola was developed. Peace prevailed. Now Agent Noah Williams is being sent over the barrier to investigate a rogue scientist who risks releasing another plague. But why would a once-respected academic threaten the enforced vaccination program that ensures humans are no longer an endangered species?

Hunting for answers amid shootouts, espionage and murder, Noah will have to confront a fundamental question: In the fight for survival, can our humanity survive too?

Set in the year 2040, within a complex, volatile political climate that is wholly immersive and unnerving, The Barrier is a blazing, fast-paced thriller in the vein of Michael Crichton and Matthew Reilly; with the subversiveness of John le Carre. But also, one man’s story of overcoming grief in order to recapture his faith."

*****

Shankari worked in the social justice field for a decade in London. She was responsible for projects in over 30 countries ranging from ensuring representation for detainees in Guantanamo Bay to training lawyers in Rwanda to advising UK Prime Minister Gordon Brown.

Her work helped her understand the role and limitations of international humanitarian law in conflicts. It also showed her what happens to society when governments subvert civil liberties. These issues form major themes in her writing.

Share with friends

Date and Time

Location

St Francis College, The Roscoe Library

233 Milton Road

Milton, QLD 4064

Australia

View Map

Save This Event

Event Saved