Free

Legal Histories of Empire Symposium

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

Online Event

Event description
Join us for a Legal Histories of Empire symposium(and for cake for a special birthday) with Profs Rohit De (Yale) and Catherine Evans (UofT)

About this Event

Join us for the first of several planned symposia in 2020 and 2021 for Legal Histories of Empire and a celebration for a special birthday of the founder of the Legal Histories of Empire Conferences.

Our speakers:

Rohit De: "Brown Lawyers, Black Robes: Decolonization, Diasporic Lawyers and Minority Rights"

Rohit De is Associate Professor of History at Yale University and is the author of A People's Constitution: The Everyday Life of Law in the Indian Republic (2018). As a Carnegie Fellow, he is currently working on a book on a history of rebellious lawyering and decolonization

Catherine Evans: “Civilization as Sanity in the Victorian Empire”

Catherine L. Evans is Assistant Professor at the Centre for Criminology and Sociolegal Studies at the University of Toronto. Her first book, Unsound Empire: Civilization and Madness in Late-Victorian Law, comes out next fall (Yale University Press, 2021).

Please register now. Zoom information will be emailed to you 36 hours before the event begins.

More information about Legal Histories of Empire events is available at lhbe.org, where you may also sign up to receive email updates.

Timezones:

New Haven/Toronto @ 4 pm on 30 October

Vancouver @ 1pm on 30 October

Sydney @ 7 am on 31 October

Auckland @ 9 am on 31October

London/Dublin @ 8 pm on 30 October

Singapore @ 4 am on 31 October

Date and Time

Location

Online Event

Save This Event

Event Saved