Foresighting Forum 2020

Actions and Detail Panel

Sales Ended

Event Information

Share this event

Date and time



Aerial UTS Function Centre

235 Jones Street

#Building 10, Level 7

Ultimo, NSW 2007


View Map

Refund policy

Refund policy

Refunds up to 30 days before event

Event description


Foresighting Forum 2020 will be held on 19 – 20 February 2020 at Aerial Function Centre, UTS.

The theme of this year's Forum is Take charge – a consumer vision for future energy services.

The Program

The keynote speaker for this year's forum will be Dr Jeffrey Hardy from Imperial College London.

Dr Jeffrey Hardy is a Senior Research Fellow at the Grantham Institute at Imperial College London, where he researches energy market transformation, innovative energy business models and the role of consumers and citizens in future energy systems. He leads a team in the UK Energy Revolution Research Consortium examining the policy and regulation of smart local energy systems.

We are delighted to announce that George Megalogenis has joined the program for the Forum. An award winning author and journalist, he will lead a conversation about the Australian community and transformational reform.

George Megalogenis is one of Australia’s leading political and economic thinkers. He is an author and journalist with three decades’ experience in the media. His book, The Australian Moment, won the 2013 Prime Minister’s Literary Award for Non-fiction and the 2012 Walkley Award for Non-fiction, which formed the basis for his ABC documentary series Making Australia Great.

We will also be discussing the outcomes and implications of a scenario planning exercise that was facilitated by Dr Matt Finch. Matt recently wrote about scenario planning in a piece for the Mandarin.

Dr Matt Finch is a writer and strategist who leads scenario and foresight work for communities, companies, and institutions worldwide. He is a facilitator on the scenarios programme at Oxford University’s Saïd Business School.

Other sessions include;

  • Consumers today and tomorrow

  • Leaders’ Plenary Session — The Energy Charter

  • Transition Design

  • Conversation on new thinking

  • The possibilities of tomorrow — heat, light and power in 2050

  • Change and Trust — the new energy compact


  • Rosemary Sinclair AM, Energy Consumers Australia

  • Dr Jeffrey Hardy, Grantham Institute, Imperial College London

  • Rob Gregory, Maddocks Lawyers

  • Andrew Bills, CS Energy

  • Gerard Brody, Consumer Action Law Centre

  • John Cleland, Essential Energy; Energy Charter CEO Council

  • Mark Collette, Energy Australia

  • Andrew Richards, Energy Users Association of Australia

  • Ben Wilson, Australian Gas Infrastructure Group

  • Dr Cameron Tonkinwise, University of Technology Sydney

  • Dr Matt Finch, Consultant (via video)

  • Dr Lachlan Blackhall, Australian National University

  • Alison Rowe, Australian Energy Foundation

  • Dr Kerry Schott AO, Energy Security Board; Moorebank Intermodal Company; NBN

  • Justine Jarvinen, UNSW Energy Institute

  • Ben Burge, Belong

  • Dr Alex Wonhas, Australian Energy Market Operator

  • Cassandra Hogan, KPMG

  • Dr Ron Ben-David, Former Chair of the Essential Services


  • Dr Mark Byrne, Total Environment Centre

  • Kellie Caught, Australian Council of Social Service

  • Craig Chambers, Australian Renewable Energy Agency

  • Dean Spaccavento, Reposit Power

  • Yolande Strengers, Monash University

  • Kerry Latter, CANEGROWERS Mackay

  • Thuy Linh Nguyen, Sydney Alliance

  • Ross Womersley, South Australian Council of Social Service

  • Dr Jelena Dodic, Forethought

  • Rachel Edwardes, Forethought

  • George Megalogenis, Journalist and Author

  • Lynne Gallagher, Energy Consumers Australia

Read the full program here.


If you would like further information about the forum, please contact Helen Dau via or on 02 9220 5500.

  • Ron Ben-David

    Ron Ben-David

    Former Chair of the Essential Services Commission
  • Andrew Bills

    Andrew Bills

    CS Energy
  • Lachlan Blackhall

    Lachlan Blackhall

    Australian National University
  • Gerard Brody

    Gerard Brody

    Consumer Action Law Centre
  • Ben Burge

    Ben Burge

  • Mark Byrne

    Mark Byrne

    Total Environment Centre
  • Kellie Caught

    Kellie Caught

    Australian Council of Social Service
  • Craig Chambers

    Craig Chambers

    Australian Renewable Energy Agency
  • John Cleland

    John Cleland

    Essential Energy; Energy Charter CEO Council
  • Mark Collette

    Mark Collette

    Energy Australia
  • Jelena Dodic

    Jelena Dodic

  • Rachel Edwardes

    Rachel Edwardes

  • Matt Finch

    Matt Finch

  • Lynne Gallagher

    Lynne Gallagher

    Energy Consumers Australia
  • Rob Gregory

    Rob Gregory

    Maddocks Lawyers
  • Jeffrey Hardy

    Jeffrey Hardy

    Grantham Institute at Imperial College London
  • Cassandra Hogan

    Cassandra Hogan

  • Justine Jarvinen

    Justine Jarvinen

    UNSW Energy Institute
  • Kerry Latter

    Kerry Latter

  • George Megalogenis

    George Megalogenis

    Journalist and Author
  • Thuy Nguyen

    Thuy Nguyen

    Sydney Alliance
  • Andrew Richards

    Andrew Richards

    Energy Users Association of Australia
  • Alison Rowe

    Alison Rowe

    Australian Energy Foundation
  • Kerry Schott

    Kerry Schott

    Energy Security Board
  • Rosemary Sinclair

    Rosemary Sinclair

    Energy Consumers Australia
  • Dean Spaccavento

    Dean Spaccavento

    Reposit Power
  • Yolande Strengers

    Yolande Strengers

    Monash University
  • Cameron Tonkinwise

    Cameron Tonkinwise

    University of Technology Sydney
  • Ben Wilson

    Ben Wilson

    Australian Gas Infrastructure Group
  • Ross Womersley

    Ross Womersley

    South Australian Council of Social Service
  • Alex Wonhas

    Alex Wonhas

    Australian Energy Market Operator

Date and time


Aerial UTS Function Centre

235 Jones Street

#Building 10, Level 7

Ultimo, NSW 2007


View Map

Refund policy

Refunds up to 30 days before event

Organiser Energy Consumers Australia

Organiser of Foresighting Forum 2020

Energy Consumers Australia promotes the long-term interests of consumers with respect to the price, quality, safety, reliability and security of supply of energy services.

Save This Event

Event Saved