Skip Main Navigation
Page Content

Liberal Women's Council (South Australia Division) is an official organisation within the Liberal Party which seeks to engage, promote and foster the interests of women.

Through encouraging women to run for elected office, advocating policy, advising on a wide range of issues and assisting in election campaigns both nationally and locally, Liberal Women's Council seeks to engage with women from the grassroots Liberal Party membership through to those on the benches of our Parliaments. 

South Australian Liberal women have achieved a number of important political firsts including: 

First women endorsed by a political party: Agnes Goode (1924) 

First women elected to Federal Parliament (Senate): Nancy Butterfield, later Dame Nancy (1955)

First woman elected to South Australian Parliament: Joyce Steele (House of Assembly) and Jessie Cooper (Legislative Council) (1959) 

First woman elected to the House of Representatives: Kay Brownbill (1966) 

First female Cabinet Minister: Joyce Steele (1968) 

First female Party President: Vickie Chapman (1992) 

First female Deputy State Leader: Vickie Chapman (2006) 

First woman to lead a major party in State Parliament: Isobel Redmond (2009) 

Longest serving female Cabinet Minister: Amanda Vanstone (10 years) 

Liberal Women's Council seeks ensure that women are represented at the highest levels of the Liberal Party. 

If you would like to get involved with Liberal Women's Council and promote women in the Liberal Party, please contact us through

Save This Event

Event Saved