Using FI concepts to understand the Coronavirus pandemic

Actions and Detail Panel

Sales Ended

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time

Location

Location

Online Event

Event description
A reflection on the gender implications of COVID-19 hosted by The Feminist Institutionalism International Network (FIIN).

About this Event

FIIN webinar series: COVID-19 and Gender: Feminist Institutionalist Provocations

The Feminist Institutionalism International Network (FIIN) is running a series of webinars to reflect on the gender implications of COVID-19. The series will discuss the usefulness of feminist institutionalist concepts and methods for understanding shifts in gender rules, practices and outcomes due to the pandemic.

Webinar 1: Using Feminist Institutionalist concepts to understand the Coronavirus pandemic

7am USA East Coast / 12 noon UK / 1pm Cape Town / 4.30pm New Delhi / 7pm Beijing / 9pm Australia EST. Calculate your local time here.

Moderator:

Louise Chappell is Scientia Professor and Director, Australian Human Rights Institute, UNSW Sydney. Louise is a co-director of the Feminism and Institutionalism International Network and a fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences Australia. Louise has published widely in the area of feminist institutionalism, including two award winning book Gendering Government and The Politics of Gender Justice and the International Criminal Court along with a range of journal articles in Perspectives on Politics, Politics & Gender and a forthcoming piece with Professor Fiona Mackay in the European Journal of Politics and Gender.

Presenters:

Vivien Lowndes is Professor of Public Policy in the School of Government, University of Birmingham (UK). Vivien is the author of ‘How are political institutions gendered?’ in Political Studies (2019) https://doi.org/10.1177/0032321719867667. She has used this conceptual framework to research the gendered character of policing reforms, focusing on violence against women (with Francesca Gains). Vivien has written on the dynamics of political institutions more generally in Why Institutions Matter, with Mark Roberts (Palgrave 2013). Vivien’s current research focuses on gender, city governance and migration.

Georgina Waylen is Professor of Politics at Manchester University. She is a co-director of FIIN and a member of the Academy of Social Sciences and in 2018 she was elected as a Fellow of the British Academy. From June 2012 to May 2017 Georgina led a European Research Council Advanced Grant 'Understanding Institutional Change: A Gender Perspective' (see www.manchester.ac.uk/uic for more details). Georgina has published widely in the area of feminist institutionalism, and edited the collection on Gender and Informal Institutions (2017) Rowman Littlefield.

Wendy G. Smooth, Ph.D. is Associate Dean for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion and Chief Diversity Officer for the College of Arts and Sciences at The Ohio State University. She holds a faculty appointment as an Associate Professor of Women’s Gender and Sexuality Studies, and holds courtesy appointments in Political Science and the John Glenn School of Public Policy. A noted scholar of intersectionality and American politics, she is one of the foremost voices writing on the experiences of women of color as law makers in political institutions and women of color issues in public policy. She regularly commentates and consults on black women in electoral politics as voters and candidates for public office.

With presentations from MA gender and politics students Uppsala University, Sweden.

Contact

To discuss your access requirements, please email humanrights@unsw.edu.au

Date and Time

Location

Online Event

Save This Event

Event Saved