$59

Rehearsal Planning Masterclass

Actions and Detail Panel

$59

Event Information

Location

Location

Online event

Refund policy

Refund policy

Contact the organiser to request a refund.

Eventbrite's fee is nonrefundable.

Event description
Learn practical tools to plan effective rehearsals that get results, and structure learning that sticks with your ensemble week after week.

About this event

Rehearsals feel like Groundhog Day?

Make your rehearsals memorable, effective and engaging for learning that sticks.

Rehearsal Planning Masterclass

Create structures for better learning, retention of information and success in your ensemble.

In this 3 hour online, interactive workshop you'll:

  • Learn specific techniques to plan and sequence learning over the course of an entire term or semester, through to the specifics during one rehearsal
  • Practice planning rehearsals using your current, recent or upcoming repertoire
  • Plan how to implement these in your rehearsals
  • Have ample time to ask questions about specific challenges you're facing

All Conducting Artistry workshops are:

  • Highly interactive - no Zoom doom & gloom here!
  • Practical and applicable - use what you learn immediately

This is NOT a sit and watch, passive Zoom session. You will be actively practicing saying and using these rehearsal techniques with your colleagues during the session. At the end of the workshop, you'll leave with tools to continue your planning and repertoire selection.

When Is it?

AUSTRALASIA: Sunday 16 May

10am-1pm AEST | 9.30am-12.30pm ACST

8-11am AWST /SGT/HKT | 12-3pm NZST

NORTH AMERICA: Saturday 15 May

5-8pm PDT | 7-10pm CST |8-11pm EST

Somewhere else? Check your time zone.

____________________________________


		Rehearsal Planning Masterclass image

____________________________________

General FAQ

Who is it for?

Any current or aspiring conductor wishing to lead more productive, fun, meaningful, musical rehearsals. Whether you're teaching in person or online, these workshops will work for you!

Is there a live ensemble in this workshop?

No. Because COVID (and Zoom!). You will learn tools for planning rehearsals and implement them yourself during the workshop.

Do I need to prepare for this workshop?

Taking a 10 minutes to think about what persistent musical challenges you have in rehearsals will get you in the right frame of mind before the workshop. How do you currently plan and structure your rehearsal time? What recurring problems do you notice with retention and learning in your ensemble?

I conduct a bush band/recorder ensemble/ukulele collective/jazz otomatone octet. Is this for me?

Do you lead or run the rehearsals (solving musical problems) of your group? Then YES, Rehearsal Technique Refresher is for you.

What if I'm not conducting anywhere right now?

The workshop covers universal concepts and skills that you can use any time, for any ensemble now or in the future.

You will get just as much out of the workshop if you're not currently conducting a group. You can still practice many of the techniques and approaches by yourself, with smaller ensembles, or use them in private/studio teaching.

What if I'm doing online/hybrid/in-person rehearsals?

The techniques covered can also be applied to any learning context, including instrumental/studio & classroom teaching, chamber ensembles and individual practice.

We will all be back to in-person sooner or later, so this session will you prepare you for that (very exciting) moment!

If you looking for ways to be more effective specifically in online rehearsals, check out my book 110 Innovative Online/Hybrid Rehearsal Activities.

____________________________________

Can I get a PD Certificate?

Yes. PD certificates can be supplied upon request after the workshop/s for the number of hours attended.

Is there a registration cut off date?

Yes. Midnight (AEDT) Thursday 13 April.

I can't make it. Are the sessions recorded?

No. These sessions are designed to be participatory and interactive. And let's be honest...are you really going to sit down and watch a 3 hour Zoom recording?

If you're keen to learn but can't come to the sessions Join the Mailing List to hear when more sessions will run later in 2021.

____________________________________


		Rehearsal Planning Masterclass image
Share with friends

Location

Online event

Refund policy

Contact the organiser to request a refund.

Eventbrite's fee is nonrefundable.

Save This Event

Event Saved