CUBESAT2018: Launching Cubesats for and from Australia

Event Information

Share this event

Date and Time



UNSW Sydney

Kensington, NSW 2052


View Map

Event description



It's been a big year in the Australian cubesat industry!

We'd like to invite everyone involved in the Australian small-sat industry to come and share their news, results and upcoming plans with the rest of the community at our third annual Cubesat Innovation Workshop: "Launching Cubesats for and from Australia".

9am - 5pm
10 - 11 July 2018 (Tuesday + Wednesday)
UNSW Sydney, Kensington Campus (room tba)

We'll be lining up speakers from current missions, industry, government and academia, as well as a very strong focus on innovation in our sessions featuring start-ups, student projects and Australia-based innovators.

Check out the proceedings from the previous Cubesat Innovation Workshops:

Go to our OFFICIAL EVENT PAGE for more details, the latest program updates or to submit an abstract.

Important Dates

  • 26 May 2018 Presentation information due to secretariat
  • 1 June 2018 Speaker list announced
  • 29 June 2018 Registrations due for presenters
  • 5 July 2018 Slide submission due for all presenters

Contact with any futher event questions or sponsorship enquiries.

  • Dr Elias Aboutanios

    Dr Elias Aboutanios

    Australian Centre for Space Engineering Research, UNSW Sydney

    Deputy Director

  • Mr Richard Allen

    Mr Richard Allen

    Australia Space Launch

    Founder and CEO

  • Dr Andrew Barton

    Dr Andrew Barton

    Fleet Space Technologies

    Director of Technology Strategy

  • Mr Stephen Belfer

    Mr Stephen Belfer

    Seaskip Systems P/L


  • Mr Hugh Carrigg

    Mr Hugh Carrigg

    Australian Space Technology Research Organisation

    Propulsion & Avionics Engineer

  • Dr Ediz Cetin

    Dr Ediz Cetin

    Macquarie University

    Senior Lecturer

  • Mr Sebastian Chaoui

    Mr Sebastian Chaoui


    Co-Founder and CEO

  • Dr Joon Wayn Cheong

    Dr Joon Wayn Cheong

    ACSER, UNSW Sydney

    Research Associate

  • Dr Kimberley Clayfield

    Dr Kimberley Clayfield

    CSIRO Astronomy and Space Science

    Executive Manager Space Sciences & Technology

  • Prof Gavin Conibeer

    Prof Gavin Conibeer

    University of New South Wales


  • Mr William Crowe

    Mr William Crowe

    HEO Robotics


  • Prof Andrew Dempster

    Prof Andrew Dempster

    Australian Centre for Space Engineering Research, UNSW Sydney


  • A/Prof Nicholas Ekins-Daukes

    A/Prof Nicholas Ekins-Daukes

    UNSW Sydney


  • Damon Ellender

    Damon Ellender

    ACSER, UNSW Sydney

    PhD Candidate

  • Prof Steven Freeland

    Prof Steven Freeland

    Western Sydney University

    Dean of Law

  • Mr James Gilmour

    Mr James Gilmour

    Gilmour Space


  • Dr Eamonn Glennon

    Dr Eamonn Glennon


    Senior Research Associate

  • Mr James Harpur

    Mr James Harpur

    Training Center for CubeSats, UAVs, and Their Applications


  • MBH Mr Benjamin Hartig

    Mr Benjamin Hartig

    Curtin University

    PhD Student

  • Dr Jason Held

    Dr Jason Held

    Saber Astronautics


  • Ms Monique Hollick

    Ms Monique Hollick

    Defence Science and Technology Group

    Space Systems Engineer

  • Mr Noor Taofiqul Huq

    Mr Noor Taofiqul Huq

    Spiral BLue

    Founder and CEO

  • Dr Andrew Klesh

    Dr Andrew Klesh

    NASA/JPL (remote presentation)

    MarCO Chief Engineer

  • Mr Benjamin Koschnick

    Mr Benjamin Koschnick

    Spectral Aerospace


  • Dr David Lingard

    Dr David Lingard

    DST Group

    Lead Small Satellite Experimentation

  • A/Prof Robert Malaney

    A/Prof Robert Malaney



  • Mr Stuart McAndrew

    Mr Stuart McAndrew

    Picosat Systems

    CTO & Co-founder

  • Mr Paris Michaels

    Mr Paris Michaels

    Air@Wave Communications Pty Ltd

    Chief technical officer

  • Dr Edward Obbard

    Dr Edward Obbard


    Senior Lecturer

  • Mr Conrad Pires

    Mr Conrad Pires

    Picosat Systems

    CEO & Co-founder

  • Dr Li Qiao

    Dr Li Qiao

    University of New South Wales, Canberra

    Senior Research Associate

  • Dr Nicholas Rattenbury

    Dr Nicholas Rattenbury

    University of Auckland

    Senior Lecturer

  • Mr Keith Rosario

    Mr Keith Rosario

    Cingulan Space

    Managing Director

  • Prof Michael Smart

    Prof Michael Smart

    The University of Queensland

    Chair of Hypersonic Propulsion

  • Dr Matthew Tetlow

    Dr Matthew Tetlow

    Inovor Technologies


  • Dr Sandy Tirtey

    Dr Sandy Tirtey

    Rocket Lab

    Director of Business Development Australia

  • Mr Mark Todd

    Mr Mark Todd

    Department of Industry, Innovation and Science


  • Dr Brad Tucker

    Dr Brad Tucker

    Mt Stromlo Observatory, the Australian National University


  • Mr Patrick Wang

    Mr Patrick Wang

    Space Ops Australia


  • Mr Mark Yeo

    Mr Mark Yeo


    ADCS Team Lead

Share with friends

Date and Time


UNSW Sydney

Kensington, NSW 2052


View Map

Save This Event

Event Saved