Planning the right date to host an event can be tricky. No one wants to announce a fantastic networking event, only to discover you’ve booked it the day before a long weekend when everyone is leaving town. Or that your nation-wide conference lands on the same week that every hotel in town is full for a major sporting event.

To help you plan ahead for locking in venues and dates in 2019, we’ve compiled a list of key dates around Australia to help you avoid schedule conflicts or even join in the party with your own themed event.

Australian Public Holidays 2019

Date of public holiday Holiday Observed States
Tuesday 1 January 2019 New Year’s Day National
Saturday 26 January 2019 Australia Day National
Monday 28 January 2019 Australia Day (observed) National
Monday 4 March 2019 Labour Day WA
Monday 11 March 2019 Canberra Day (ACT)
Adelaide Cup Day (SA)
Eight Hour Day (TAS)
Labour Day (VIC)
ACT/SA/
TAS/VIC
Friday 19 April 2019 Good Friday National
Sunday 21 April 2019 Easter Saturday National
Monday 22 April 2019 Easter Monday National
Tuesday 23 April 2019 Easter Tuesday TAS (limited)
Thursday 25 April 2019  ANZAC Day National
Monday 6 May 2019 May Day (NT)
Labour Day (QLD)
NT/QLD
Monday 27 May 2019  Reconciliation Day ACT
Monday 3 June 2019  Western Australia Day  WA
 Monday 10 June 2019  Queen’s Birthday ACT/NSW/NT
/SA/TAS/VIC
 Friday 26 July 2019 Darwin Show Day NT (Darwin only)
 Monday 5 August 2019  Picnic Day NT
Wednesday 14 August 2019 Brisbane Show Day QLD (Brisbane only)
 Friday 27 September 2019 Grand Final Friday VIC
Monday 30 September 2019  Queen’s Birthday WA
 Monday 7 October 2019 Labour Day (ACT/NSW/SA)
Queen’s Birthday (QLD)
ACT/NSW/QLD/SA
 Monday 4 November 2019  Recreation Day  TAS
Tuesday 5 November 2019  Melbourne Cup  VIC
Wednesday 25 December 2019 Christmas Day National
Thursday 26 December 2019 Boxing Day National

Seasonal and cultural celebrations 2019

Tuesday 5 February 2019 Chinese New Year
Thursday 14 February 2019 Valentine’s Day
Tuesday 5 March 2019 Carnival/Shrove Tuesday
Sunday 17 March 2019 St. Patrick’s Day
Mid-late April 2019 Easter
13 – 15 April 2019 Songkran – Thai New Year
Sunday 5 May 2019 Cinco de Mayo
Sunday 12 May 2019 Mother’s Day
Sunday 5 May 2019 Ramadan begins
Sunday 30 June 2019 End of Financial Year
Thursday 4 July 2019 Independence Day (USA)
Sunday 14 July 2019 Bastille Day
Sunday 1 September 2019 Father’s Day
22 September – 7 October 2019 Oktoberfest
Tuesday 8 October 2019 Yom Kippur
Sunday 27 October 2019 Diwali/Deepavali
Thursday 31 October 2019 Halloween
Monday 11 November 2019 Remembrance Day
December Christmas, Hanukkah, and EOY

Major Festivals and Events in Australia 2019

Date Event City
14 – 27 January 2019 Australian Open Melbourne
9 – 27 January 2019 Sydney Festival Sydney
3 February 2019 Super Bowl N/A
15 February – 3 March 2019 Mardi Gras Festival Sydney
15 February – 17 March 2019 Adelaide Fringe and Adelaide Festival Adelaide
17 February 2019 White Night Melbourne
8 – 11 March 2019 Moomba Festival Melbourne
14 – 17 March 2019 Formula 1 Grand Prix Melbourne
27 March – 21 April 2019 International Comedy Festival Melbourne
May 2017 (TBC) Fashion Week Australia National
1 – 31 May 2019 Aussie Wine Month National
10 – 19 May 2019 Good Beer Week Melbourne
May 2019 (Dates TBC) Vivid Sydney Sydney
5 June 2019
23 June 2019
10 July 2019
State of Origin Brisbane
Perth
Sydney
10 August 2019 Bledisloe Cup Perth
 September 2019 Football Fever – AFL and NRL Grand Finals National
November 2019 Spring Racing Carnival Melbourne

Want more local event inspiration? Head to eventbrite.com.au to browse popular and upcoming events in your city.

Please note: Dates are correct at the time of publishing and are subject to change.